Winners Announced for Deutscher SpielePreis and The American Tabletop Awards

On Monday, Sept. 16, SPIEL organizer Friedhelm Merz Verlag announced the results of the 2019 Deutscher SpielePreis, an annual award in which gamers vote on the titles they've most liked over the preceding twelve months. Voting takes place in the middle of the year, with titles released between July of the previous year and June of the current year being eligible.

Based on the votes tallied, the winner of the 2019 DSP is Elizabeth Hargrave's Wingspan from Stonemaier Games and (in Italy) Ghenos Games. Here are the other vote-getters in the top ten, with their originating publisher listed instead of their German-specific one:

 2. The Taverns of Tiefenthal, by Wolfgang Warsch (Schmidt Spiele)
 3. Teotihuacan, by Daniele Tascini and Dávid Turczi (Board&Dice / Giochix)
 4. Spirit Island, by R. Eric Reuss (Greater Than Games / Ghenos Games)
 5. Architetti del Regno Occidentale / Architects of the West Kingdom, by Shem Phillips and S.J. Macdonald (Garphill Games /Fever Games)
 6. Detective, by Ignacy Trzewiczek, Przemysław Rymer, and Jakub Łapot (Portal Games)
 7. Underwater Cities, by Vladimír Suchý (Rio Grande / MS Edizioni)
 8. Newton, by Nestore Mangone and Simone Luciani (Cranio Creations)
 9. Just One, by Ludovic Roudy and Bruno Sautter (Repos Production)
10. Gloomhaven, by Isaac Childres (Cephalophair Games)

That same day saw the debut of The American Tabletop Awards (ATTA), a new annual award founded by a committee of ten — Brittanie Boe, Nicole Brady, Amber Cook, Ruel Gaviola, Jonathan Liu, Becca Scott, Suzanne Sheldon, Theo Strempel, Annette Villa, and Eric Yurko — with all the committee members being based in the United States and being involved in the gaming industry in various ways.

The ATTAs will name winners in four categories — early gamers, casual games, strategy games, and complex games — with winners being announced in June in future years, but in September for 2019 to kick things off now rather than waiting another nine months. Each category will have a winning title, two recommended titles, and two nominated titles. (The format seems to be that the top five titles in a category are nominated, with committee members then voting on those to determine the winning and recommended titles.)

For 2019, the ATTA winners are:

• Early gamers: Catch the Moon, by Fabien Riffaud and Juan Rodriguez (Studio Bombyx)
• Casual games: Ciarlatani di Quedlinburgo /The Quacks of Quedlinburg, by Wolfgang Warsch (North Star Games LLC / Devir)
• Strategy games: Chronicles of Crime, by David Cicurel (Lucky Duck Games)
• Complex games: Root, by Cole Wehrle (Leder Games / MS Edizioni)

ROOT: Un Gioco di Potere e Giustizia nei Boschi


Recently Viewed

No products
Compare 0